Monument to the Heroic Defenders of Leningrad

Back

Monument to the Heroic Defenders of Leningrad is the first sight you see if you arrive in Saint Petersburg from the southern direction, on the way from Pulkovo airport. This unique monument commemorates the great feat of Soviet people during the Siege and the glorious Victory in one of the most devastating wars of the humankind.

The Monument

The composition includes 3 main parts:

"Square of the Victors", featuring 26 bronze figures. These are Soldiers, Pilots and Civilians who defended the city. They are looking towards the Pulkovo Heights, where the defensive lines fighting the Nazis were located.

The central part is a 48-m tall granite obelisk with statues of a Soldier and a Worker placed at its pedestal. They symbolize the united effort of the armed forces and Leningrad homefront in the heroic city defense.

The open-air memorial hall is surrounded by a broken ring, which signifies lifting of the Siege, and has beautifully crafted sculptures in the middle. They create a very strong emotional impression of all the pain and suffering endured by Leningrad people during that tragic time.

Underground Memorial Hall

The subterranean part of the museum features a collection of war artefacts: documents, awards, soldiers' personal belongings, weapons, handwritten letters from boys seeking to join the army. The grim silence is interrupted only by the sound of metronome and emergency announcements transmitted on the radio. On a huge display on the wall a short documentary is being broadcast, bringing us closer to the feelings of people who witnessed those horrible events.

Among the highlights are mosaics depicting a Siege and a Victory scene, the map of Leningrad defense and 900 torches lighting the space - as many as the number of days in the Siege.

A visit to the underground Memorial hall is free with Petersburg Card.

Historical facts

The monument was constructed during the 1970-s, designed by S. Speransky and V. Kamensky and sculpted by M. Anikushin. A lot of volunteers took part in the works - not only citizens of Leningrad, but people from other cities as well, and even from other countries. The monument was opened on May 9th 1975, the 30th anniversary of the Victory in World War II. The underground part was not completed on time and opened later, in 1978.

* * *

Monument to the Heroic Defenders of Leningrad is located on the Victory Square, just a few minutes away from Moskovskaya metro station - the departure point for buses to the airport and famous suburbs: Pushkin, Pavlovsk, Gatchina.

Plan a visit to this lesser known yet a truly worthwhile museum to see the beautiful tribute to city defenders and get a glimpse into Leningrad tragic wartime past.

Free with
St Petersburg Card
Normal Ticket Price: 200 RUB

Address:
Pobedy sq., entrance by underground passage

Closest metro station:
Moskovskaya

Getting there:
Buses 11, 39, 141, minibuses K11, K290, K213, K29

Phone:
+7 (812) 373-65-63

Website:
www.spbmuseum.ru

Open hours:
Daily: 11.00 - 18.00, tickets till 17.30, tuesday: 11.00 - 17.00, tickets till 16.30, Closed: Wednesday

Монумент героическим защитникам Ленинграда

Вернуться назад

Монумент героическим защитникам Ленинграда - это первая достопримечательность, которую вы увидите при въезде в Санкт-Петербург с юга, на пути из аэропорта Пулково. Уникальный памятник служит напоминанием о подвиге фронта и тыла в страшные дни блокады и увековечивает торжество Победы в одной из самых разрушительных войн в истории человечества.

Наземная экспозиция

В составе мемориала несколько частей:

"Площадь Победителей" - 26 бронзовых скульптур. Среди них Снайперы, Летчики, Литейщики и другие собирательные образы защитников Ленинграда. Их взгляды направлены в сторону Пулковских высот - туда, где располагалась линия фронта.

Центральная часть скульптурной композиции - гранитный обелиск высотой 48 м. У подножия расположены фигуры Рабочего и Солдата как символ единства фронта и тыла в борьбе за Победу.

Открытый мемориальный зал в разорванном "кольце", символизирующем прорыв блокады. Скульптурная группа в центре передает тяготы, боль и страдания жителей блокадного Ленинграда, запечатленных в бронзе.

Подземный Памятный зал

В подземной части музея размещена документально-художественная экспозиция, в которой собраны реликвии войны - в т.ч. оружие, награды, предметы блокадного быта. Суровую и печальную тишину прерывает равномерное тикание метронома и радиопозывные. На экране транслируется небольшая документальная кинохроника, позволяющая еще глубже прочувствовать этот трагический период в нашей истории.

Среди наиболее значимых экспонатов - 2 мозаичных панно "1941 - Блокада" и "Победа", карта битвы за Ленинград, бронзовый календарь «Летопись героических дней блокады Ленинграда». Вдоль стен установлено 900 светильников, что соответствует количеству блокадных дней. Из всего этого складывается уникальная атмосфера, воссозданная и бережно поддерживаемая музеем.

Посещение подземного Памятного зала включено в Карту Гостя.

Из истории

Строительство монумента велось в 70-е годы по проекту народных художников и скульпторов СССР: В. Каменского, С. Сперанского, М. Аникушина. В самих работах участвовало множество добровольцев - не только ленинградцы, но и жители других городов. Открытие наземной части было приурочено к 30-й годовщине Победы в Великой Отечественной войне - 9 мая 1975 года, а вот с подземным мемориальным залом в сроки уложиться не удалось - работы были завершены только в 1978 году.

* * *

Монумент героическим защитникам Ленинграда находится на площади Победы, в шаговой доступности от станции метро "Московская" - откуда отправляются автобусы в аэропорт и знаменитые пригороды Санкт-Петербурга: Пушкин, Павловск, Гатчину.

Спланируйте визит в этот небольшой, но поистине замечательный музей, чтобы почтить память, героизм и самоотверженность воинов и простых ленинградцев, отстоявших свой город в Великой Отечественной войне.

Включено
в Карту Гостя
Обычная цена: 200 рублей

Адрес:
пл. Победы, 1, проход на монумент через подземный переход

Ближайшая станция метро:
Московская

Как добраться:
автобусы: 11, 39, 141, маршрутки: К11, К290, К213, К29

Контактный телефон:
+7 (812) 373-65-63

Сайт:
www.spbmuseum.ru

Режим работы касс:
ежедневно: 11 - 18, касса до 17.30, во вторник: 11 - 17, касса до 16.30, выходной: среда